Wednesday, 12 November 2014

the ramones first album demos 1975

How these recordings have come to light is miracle of the times, given that it was probably only ever on a cassette in the first place. This set of demos by The Ramones recorded in 1975 was to eventually become their first album.
As raw and lo-fi as it is those chainsaw guitars and snotty vocals are all in place some two years before their debut album is released. Some of the songs sound a bit slower or even in different keys but within those couple of years and CBGB's later they would be tighter and faster and make one of the most important albums of the the 1970's and inspire a new era in rock and roll.
Here's the track listing with the time each track begins -

    1. I Don't Wanna Go Down To The Basement Demo 00:00
    2. 53rd & 3rd Demo 02:27
    3. I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend Demo 04:50
    4. Judy Is A Punk Demo 06:39
    5. Loudmouth Demo 08:20
    6. Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue Demo 10:40
    7. I Can't Be Demo 12:22
    8. Today Your Love Tomorrow The World Demo 14:18
    9. I Don't Wanna Walk Around With You Demo 16:29
    10. I Don't Wanna Be Learned I Don't Wanna Be Tamed Demo 18:22
    11. You Gonna Kill That Girl Demo 19:25
    12. What's Your Name Demo 22:09
    13. Chainsaw Demo 24:58
    14. You Should Never Open That Door Demo 26:54